Get into The Mindset Of The Future

In high school, one of the things I had to do was write a 4,000-word essay on any topic and any subject of my choosing. So much freedom of choice that it was crippling.

I chose to write in Psychology and about the “effect of violent video games on young audiences.”

I remember thinking of the whole endeavour as a daunting drudgery that I had to someway, somehow survive. In the beginning, stress and uncertainty were huge factors.

I felt lost and overwhelmed.

The funniest thing about the whole experience was that it turned out to be the most enjoyable assignment of my entire 3 years in high school.

I look upon every stage of that entire research project very fondly.

What would I have been able to unlock?

What if I had the mindset about the project that I have now (i.e. enjoyable, stimulating, insightful, an awesome learning opportunity) when I first started the assignment?

What would I have been able to unlock?

13166559284_b2f016a2ac_h.jpg
randy der via Flickr

How much better would I have been able to perform in the assignment? What else would I have been able to tap into?

At beginning of any project, things may seem daunting at first. It all might seem like an insurmountable mountain to climb.

You just envision all the work ahead of you.

Woah.

And even if you get into the assignment or whatever it is that you are focusing on, it can feel like a long day at the office for countless hours or days on end.

It’s always tough. You’ll endure plateaus and times where you’re running in place and nothing is progressing. After all – The Dip is unforgiving.

But along the way you are learning little lessons. You need to learn them. If you don’t learn them, you won’t grow. You won’t level up.

These are the lessons that are gearing you up with the confidence and ability to face head on the various challenges life will undoubtedly throw your way.

And it is these little lessons that amount to a broader understanding of whatever it is that you’re working on.

A broader understanding in your field of expertise or just life in general.

It is this understanding that will carry you to the next level of progress.

So try get into the mindset of the future.

Be aware that you’re investing in yourself, in your future, or contributing to a greater cause. Always have that at the forefront of your mind when things are tough.

You’ll be better off for it.

And chances are you’ll look back fondly on this current period of hard work and drudgery some weeks, months, years down the line.

P.S. Thanks for reading. If you liked this, feel free to sign up to my free weekly newsletter.

Leave a Comment

