I’ve Completed my New Year’s Resolution (And Here’s How)

What a way to end 2016.

I’ve completed a year-long goal of reading 15 books in 2016. 

It was one of my main New Year’s Resolutions.

This was my way of trying to get myself to read more books.

And I did it.

Every time I finished a book, I posted a photo of the book cover on my Instagram.

That’s all I’ve been using Instagram for, really.

And once I finished my 15th and final book for the year, I started adding hashtags.

I added #reading, which has been added by around 10,000,000 (10mln) people.

Then I added this hashtag –> #newyearsresolutioncompleted.

It was added by only 30 people.

How did I do it?

Aside from making resolutions that are actionable and attainable, you have to be motivated.

I got motivated.

What motivated me?

Well, I wanted to read more books. I felt this was important to my own self-development.

But I was also aware that  92% of people fail to achieve their New Year’s Resolutions.

And I wanted to be part of the small 8% of people that get stuff done.

Secondly, I focused on carrying out my plan of reading 15 books in 2016.

And I used psychology to do it.

Basically, there’s a concept in psychology that helps people build good habits.

This concept is called Implementation Intentions.

They are little plans of action that make sure you put in the work to achieve your goal.

They follow an ‘If-Then’ format.

Example.

If I wake up, then I will do push-ups to failure.

Using this little trick, I built a system that would help me achieve my long-term of reading 15 books this year.

And my system was this:

Always read on the train (to and fro university, work, whatever)

Always read when in transit (Eurostar, plane, whatever)

That’s it.

One thought on “I’ve Completed my New Year’s Resolution (And Here’s How)

Leave a Comment

